The Perhentian Islands (in Malay: Pulau Perhentian) are an archipelago of the Malaysia located in the South China Sea, about 19 km off the coast of the northeast coast of the Malay Peninsula and 64 km in south of the Thai border. They belong to Terengganu State.

The two main islands are Perhentian Besar (Grand Perhentian) and Perhentian Kecil (Small Perhentian). The small uninhabited islands of Susu Dara (virgin milk), Serenggeh and Rawa lie off Kecil. The Perhentian islands depend on today’s «Pulau Redang National Marine Park», which implies that it is forbidden to fish, collect corals or throw litter.

The beauty of Pulau Perhentian in fact a tourist destination. Perhentian Besar and Perhentian Kecil have white sand beaches lined with coconut palms and a turquoise blue sea. Swimming and Diving are the most popular tourist activities. At the edge of beaches, the water is little deep, and stingrays,cuttlefishes and parrotfish are nymerous. A group of small rocky islands in the northwest of Perhentian Kecil is the best place for diving. Other possible activities are the camping, boating, fishing, hiking in forest, riding banana inflatable boat. Accommodations are mostly on Perhentian Besar, the big island. Hotels are generally intended for the travelers with low budgets.

Click to enlarge the map

Comments are closed