Official title: Federation of Malaysia

Capital: Kuala Lumpur (K-L)

Area: 329 750km²

Population: 26 million (19 million in Peninsular Malaysia, 7 million in East Malaysia)

Ethnic groups: Malays (62%), Chinese (25%), Indians (10%), Orang Asli (3%)

Languages: Bahasa malaysia is the official language, English is wide spread in metropolises, Chinese, Tamil

Religion: Islam is the state religion since 1450. All Malays are Muslims, over 50% of the population.

Malay practice a moderate Islam and are very tolerant to other religions.

The Chinese are mostly Buddhists or Christians, Indians are Hindouist , Orang Asli tribes living in the jungle are  animist.

Government: Constitutional monarchy

King: Since 13 December 2011: Abdul Halim of Kedah,

Theoretical following:

  • 2016-2021: Sultan of Kelentan
  • 2021-2026: Sultan of Pahang
  • 2026-2031: Sultan of Sultan
  • 2031-2036: Sultan of Perak

    Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak

Comments are closed